HAWAII MARRIAGE LICENSE INFO
A marriage license is required if you wish to be legally married.
The marriage license is valid for 30 days from the date of issue.
The Hawaii Marriage License Application cannot be accepted by your Marriage Performer.
Marriage Licenses from other states cannot be used in Hawaii.
If you are already married and want to renew your wedding vows then no license is required.
APPLYING FOR MARRIAGE LICENSE ONLINE WITH CREDIT CARD:
Hawaii Marriage or Civil Union License Application Fee: $60. Online Processing Fee: $5
The Hawaii Marriage Application is valid for 30 days from the date of issue.
Put Kimberly Crinella in the box for Minister (Officiate).
We recommend you submit the data online a few days or weeks before your intended date at the applicable website below:
PICK UP LICENSE:
The wedding couple MUST personally appear before a licensing agent together and show proper photo ID to pick up your license Worksheet which is required by the minister the on the day of the service. The Honolulu marriage license office is located in the State Health Department building, called "Kinau Hale", at 1250 Punchbowl Street, Honolulu, Hawaii 96813. Phone: (808) 586-4545. No appointment necessary. Hours of service: 8 am to 3:30 pm.
APPLYING IN PERSON WITH CASH:
Application Fee: $60. Pay in cash, ATM available on site.
Applications can be submitted by the couple together in person within 30 days of your date at the State Health Department or to an authorized licensing agent.
The Honolulu marriage license office is located in the State Health Department building, called "Kinau Hale", at 1250 Punchbowl Street, Honolulu, Hawaii 96813. Phone: (808) 586-4545. No appointment necessary. Hours of service: 8 am to 3:30 pm.
GETTING YOUR LICENSE
The wedding couple MUST appear together in person before a Hawaii licensing agent and present a valid government photo ID. The application requires the name of a Minister (Marriage Performer) licensed in Hawaii. Put Kimberly Crinella on the form for "Name of Marriage Performer." Couples cannot make a copy of the license or file it on their own.
BRING YOUR LICENSE TO THE OFFICIANT
Remember to present your official Hawaii Marriage License to your Marriage Performer. The officiant is not obligated to perform the service without the license document (usually pink).
PROCESSING TIME AND FEES
Once your minister has certified your license online and it is posted to the Vital Records Office, you can retrieve it online using the Locator ID Number that you received when completing your Marriage Application and you can print a Temporary Marriage Certificate. It is a valid state document.
A newly married couple receives one (1) certified copy of the marriage certificate at no extra charge, which will be sent to the couple by mail (60-120 days) after the marriage has been performed. If a certified copy of the marriage certificate is needed sooner than this, you can apply for one or more additional certified copies using the green form you received with the Marriage License. A certified copy of the marriage certificate cannot be generated until the license is posted into the Vital Statistics System.
State of Hawaii charges a $10 fee to issue a certified copy of the Certificate of Marriage prior to the normal period of 120 days. Once the license is entered into the system, you can pick-up the copy in person or have it mailed to you in 7-21 days. The State provides a green order form with the license. A certified copy is automatically sent after 120 days if you don't ask for the expedited copy.
For residents of foreign countries, an Apostille is available for $1. This is a separate fee and cannot be combined with the expedite fee.
Things to Know About Applying for a Marriage License in Hawaii
- There are no state residence or U.S. citizenship requirements.
- Blood tests are not required.
- The legal age to marry is 18 years for both applicants.
- Applicants of 16 or 17 years of age who wish to marry require the written consent of both parents, legal guardian, or the family court. The parents or legal guardian do not have to be residents of the state. Consent forms may be obtained from a marriage license agent.
- Applicants of 15 years of age who wish to marry require the written consent of both parents or legal guardian, and the written approval of a judge of the family court. The parents or legal guardian do not have to be residents of the state. Consent forms may be obtained from a marriage license agent.
- Proof of age is required. A certified copy of a birth certificate must be presented for anyone 18 years of age or under. A valid I.D. or driver’s license may be presented for anyone 19 years of age or over.
- If previously married, proof of original divorce decree or death certificate needs to be presented to the marriage agent by the applicant if the divorce or death was final within 30 days of applying for a marriage license.
- Cousins may marry. However, the blood relationship between the prospective applicants cannot be closer than first cousins.
Follow on Facebook:
Subscribe to the Aloha Friends YouTube channel for relaxing Moment of Aloha videos and enjoy a mental vacation to Hawaii anytime!
YouTube Aloha Friends Channel
All content on the website was written by Mike or Kim Crinella. All photographs on the website were taken by Mike or Kim Crinella, were submitted to A Friend in the Islands by a website user, or were Public Domain Fair Use at the time of publication.